Certifications are carried out online using the video conferencing tool "MS Teams".


Requirements for the certification


  • Knowledge according to ICB4
  • Methods & processes of the latest pm baseline


  • At least 540 person days (1 year = 180 person days) of project management experience during the last 6 years including
    • at least 360 person days as a project manager with overall responsibility on moderately complex projects. This includes
      • Person days as a project manager
      • Person days as a project team member with leadership of a sub-team


Participation in a compulsory (online) certification briefing


Certification process

Process pma certification Level C Project Manager zPM


Certification fee

The fee for certification as a Project Manager for

  • pma members EUR 1,133.00 (incl. 10% VAT)
  • Non-members EUR 1,353.00 (incl. 10% VAT)


General requirements for the exams

A computer (notebook, ...) with webcam and microphone as well as a stable internet connection are the basic technical requirements for online certification.

We ask you to take the exams alone (in a quiet place) and to turn on your camera and microphone during the exam. Candidates must submit official evidence of their identity (e.g. passport, a government-issued photo identification card). No aditional items are allowed during your exam.



To prepare for certification as a Project Manager you should study the IPMA Competence Baseline (ICB4), the latest pm baseline & supplementary literature.

In addition, you can also prepare with the help of:

  • Seminars run by pma training partners
  • PM training programmes at institutions of higher education
  • PM seminars at educational and training institutions
  • Independent study



The certification as outlined by IPMA® Level C is conducted via "MS Teams" and is a customised online exam (120 minutes) which is divided in two parts:

  • Oral exam: Two virtually present pma assessors will assess your knowledge and skills [18 open questions on PM competences according to ICB4 (contextual, personal and social as well as technical competencies) and in line with the currently valid pm baseline].
  • Interview: Your project report and PM competences will be assessed (according to ICB4 and methods & processes of the currently valid pm baseline). 


Validity period

The pma/IPMA® Level C certification is valid for 5 years. It proves the current level of knowledge and experience in a professional field that is constantly evolving. Therefore, continuous personal development is necessary to maintain the certification status. After 5 years, a pma/IPMA® Level C re-certification or, with appropriate experience, a higher certification according to pma/IPMA® is possible.

Download further information