• Specialist knowledge in accordance with ICB4
  • Methods & processes of the latest pm baseline


  • At least 900 person days (PD) (=5 years) of experience as a project manager with overall responsibility on very complex projects – so-called “mega projects” including
    • at least 540 person days (=3 years) of experience as a project manager on projects at a strategic level
  • The candidate must explain in the application form why, in his or her opinion, these projects fulfil the complexity and strategic relevance criteria for certification as a Project Director pma/IPMA® Level A. The complexity and strategic level of these projects will then be evaluated by assessors.
  • Examples of very complex projects (=mega projects) are: Construction of a hospital or airport, organising a bid for the Olympic Games, setting up a data centre, ...


Participation in a compulsory certification briefing

  • Time to be agreed individually with the assessor


Certification process

Process pma certification Level A Project Director zPD


Certification fee

The fee for certification as a Project Director for

  • pma members EUR 2,777.50 (incl. 10% VAT), except for pma young crew members
  • Non-members EUR 3,091.00 (incl. 10% VAT)



Please contact us This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for further instructions



To prepare for certification as a Project Director you should study the IPMA Competence Baseline (ICB4), the latest pma baseline & supplementary literature.

In addition, you can also prepare with the help of:

  • Seminars run by pma training partners,
  • PM training programmes at institutions of higher education
  • PM seminars at educational and training institutions
  • Independent study


Validity period

The pma/IPMA® Level A certification is valid for 5 years. It proves the current level of knowledge and experience in a professional field that is constantly evolving. Therefore, continuous personal development is necessary to maintain the certification status. After 5 years, a pma/IPMA® Level D re-certification is possible.