Value of certification

As well as providing proof of your knowledge and professional experience in the field of project management, pma/IPMA® certificationa are recognised in over 70 countries and on all continents. An overview of the IPMA® Member Associations is available on the IPMA® website. Once you have received your certification you are entitled to use the abbreviation of the particular PM certification level after your name on your business cards and stationery.


PM certifications also offers your company the following benefits:

  • Assurance of project management competences for your customers
  • A competitive advantage
  • Establishment of a standard of qualification and PM career path within the company


Certification level

Certification is awarded in accordance with the IPMA® Four Level Certification (4-L-C) model consisting of four different levels that can be interpreted as a career path in project management. Candidates for certification in IPMA® Level D, Level C, Level B and Level A are required to demonstrate knowledge or experience in three areas of competence (context, personal & social skills and technical competence elements), which are evaluated and assessed at an appropriate level of difficulty. Depending on your level of proven professional experience, you can directly apply for certification at any IPMA® level. The following diagram shows the individual certification levels, the required competences and the positions you could hold once you have achieved the relevant level of certification.


career path pma certification

If you are interested in a certification as programme or portfolio manager inquire directly to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

In addition, pma/IPMA® Delta certification offers the opportunity to certify the entire organization according to the pma/IPMA® standard. Please direct inquiries regarding Delta certifications to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Certification process

The certification is based on the IPMA® competence guideline ICB4 and the pm baseline in their current version. You will find an summary of the individual steps in the certification process in the following overview:

process pma certification

An overview of the fees for the respective certification levels can be found in the following list.


Certification level

Please click the button to find further information about the following certification levels.


Complaints office for certifications

Complaints about the certification process can be submitted to our independent complaints department via our contact form. The submission is subject to a fee of EUR 100 (excl. 10% VAT). If your complaint is upheld, the amount will be refunded to you.

Certification Briefings and Certification Presentations

Registration until:
31.07.2024, 15:00
Registration until:
01.09.2024, 15:00